Inferring the physical parameters of galaxy populations from their observed properties is one of the key problems in galaxy evolution, and a necessary ingredient in many cosmological analyses. Typical approaches require an explicit or computable form of the likelihood, and significant computational resources. Simulation Based Inference (SBI) approaches circumvent this requirement, and when combined with machine learning methods, significantly reduce the computational cost of inference. Such approaches are necessary to process the millions to billions of sources from the latest generation of instruments.

Simulation based inference is currently being applied to many astrophysical problems which face similar computing barriers. In this workshop, we aim to bring together both experts in SBI as well as galaxy evolution experts with SBI experience, to discuss problems and solutions faced when applying SBI to problems in galaxy evolution. This will be a small, focused meeting to enable plenty of time for discussion and practical sessions.

Abstract Submission

Submit your abstract here!~ Closed



Important Dates:

  • Abstract submission opens: 18 December 2023

  • Abstract submission deadline: 19 January 2024

  • Registration Opens: 16 February 2024

  • Registration Deadline: 29 March 2024

  • Workshop: 9 - 12 April 2024


The meeting will be held in person at the School of Physics in Bristol, United Kingdom.

Further local information is provided here.


Underlined participants are remote contributions.


Download the Abstract Booklet


Name Affilication
Adam Carnall University of Edinburgh
Alessio Spurio Mancini Royal Holloway, University of London
Anna Lena Schaible Heidelberg University
Charalampos Daoutis University of Crete
Chris Lovell University of Portsmouth
Dakshesh Kololgi University College London
Dan Leonte Imperial College London
Dhruv Zimmerman University of Florida
Francisco Castander ICE-CSIC, IEEC
Francois Lanusse Simons Foundation
Grant Stevens University of Bristol
Hin Leung University of St Andrews
Ioana Ciuca Australian National University
Jack Simons University of Bristol
James Ray University College London
Joshua Williamson University College London
Kiyam Lin University College London
Liam Parker Flatiron Institute
Lucas Makinen Imperial College London
Marc Huertas-Company Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias
Matt Selwood University of Bristol
Matthew Ho Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris
Maximilian von Wietersheim-Kramsta Durham University
Niall Jeffrey University College London
Nicholas Boardman University of St Andrews
Patricia Iglesias-Navarro Instituto Astrofisica de Canarias
Sophie Newman University of Portsmouth
Sotiria Fotopoulou University of Bristol
Stephane Paltani University of Geneva
Teresa Matamoro Zatarain University of Bristol


S. Fotopoulou & C. Lovell

We expect all participants to abide by the meeting code of conduct, available here.


  • Johannes Buchner (MPE)
  • Jo Ciuca (ANU)
  • Carolina Cuesta-Lazaro (MIT/Harvard)
  • Sotiria Fotopoulou (U Bristol; co-chair)
  • Matt Ho (IAP)
  • Kartheik Iyer (U Columbia)
  • Niall Jeffrey (UCL)
  • Christian Jespersen (Princeton U)
  • Pablo Lemos (U Montreal)
  • Christoper Lovell (U Portsmouth; co-chair)
  • Lucas Makinen (Imperial College)
  • Yuan-sen Ting (ANU)
  • Mike Walmsley (U Toronto)


  • Sotiria Fotopoulou
  • Chris Lovell
  • Matt Selwood
  • Grant Stevens
  • Teresa Matamoro Zatarain